The scsb 2021 conference

The safety and well-being of all conference participants is our priority. Facing the COVID-19 pandemic and its various effects, the Scandinavian Society for Biomaterials ScSB 2021 conference was held as virtual event.

The ScSB 2021!
June 14, 2021
8:30 - 18:00 Brussels time, CEST

Detailed ScSB 2021 scientific program is available via website:

110 abstracts have been reviewed. Represented 19 countries: the abstract authors from Sweden, Finland, Norway, Denmark, Latvia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, The Netherlands, UK, Belgium, The United States of America and Turkey.
Each of the submitted abstract was independently and carefully reviewed by members of the ScSB 2021 Scientific Committee. All abstracts were assessed by the same scientific criteria.

THE TOPIC of ScSB 2021 is dedicated to “Customized Solutions” in any kind of areas connected with biomaterials. 

Mauro Alini, AO Research Institute Davos, Switzerland
Simonas Grybauskas, Department of Maxillofacial Surgery, Vilnius University Zalgirio Hospital, Lithuania
Catherine Le Visage, Regenerative Medicine and Skeleton, RMeS, Faculté de Chirurgie Dentaire, Université de Nantes, France
Christele Combes, Institut National Polytechnique de Toulouse, France      
Tom Coenye, Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium
Wojciech Swieszkowski, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland


Peter Uppstu, Åbo Akademi University, Finland
Cecilia Persson, Uppsala University, Sweden
My Hedhammar, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
Gissur Örlygsson, Innovation Center Iceland, Iceland
Vygandas Rutkunas, Vilnius University, Lithuania
Gemma Mestres Beà, Uppsala University, Sweden
Dagnija Loča, Riga Technical University, Latvia
Kristīne Šalma-Ancāne, Riga Technical University, Latvia
Arita Dubņika, Riga Technical University, Latvia
Kristaps Rubenis, Riga Technical University, Latvia
Kārlis Agris Gross, Riga Technical University, Latvia
Michael Gasik, Aalto University, Finland
Maija Dambrova, Latvian Institute of Organic Synthesis, Latvia
Tom Coenye, Ghent University, Belgium
Wojciech Swieszkowski, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland
Līga Stīpniece, Riga Technical University, Latvia
Kristaps Kļaviņš, Riga Technical University, Latvia


The European Society for Biomaterials (ESB) was founded in March 1976, and became a member of the International Union of Societies for   Biomaterials Sciences and Engineering (IUS-BSE) at its conception, in 1979.
The ESB today has approximately 1,000 from over 30 countries worldwide.
AFM (atomic force microscopy) is an advanced multiparametric imaging technique that delivers 3D profiles of the surfaces of biological samples, from individual biomolecules to mammalian cells and tissues, in the nm-range and the characterization of their nanomechanical properties. Bruker’s NanoWizard® BioAFMs are uniquely capable of performing high-speed studies of the time- resolved dynamics associated with cellular processes. The nanoscale structure of individual biomolecules can be resolved at scan rates of up to 1,000 lines/sec. Direct correlation of quantitative AFM and super-resolution datasets is possible, as well as a seamless combination with optical techniques, e.g. epifluorescence, confocal, and TIRF.


The Scandinavian Society for Biomaterials (ScSB).

The Baltic Biomaterials Centre of Excellence (Latvia).

Riga Technical University (Latvia).

Latvian Materials Research Society (Latvia).


Conference Chair  
Prof. Janis Locs
Email:  janis.locs(at)

Organizing committee
Vineta Vaivode
Email: vineta.vaivode(at)

Our social media channels: