Meet the Board

Cecilia Persson

President
Professor in Biomaterials, Div. Applied Materials Science, Dept. Engineering Sciences, Uppsala University, Sweden
cecilia.persson@angstrom.uu.se

Hanna Tiainen

Board member
Associate Professor at University of Oslo, Norway
hanna.tiainen@odont.uio.no

Mats Hulander

Treasurer
Researcher at Department of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Chalmers University of Technology, Göteborg, Sweden
mats.hulander@chalmers.se

Alireza Dolatshahi-Pirouz

Board member
Associate Professor at Technical University of Denmark (DTU), Copenhagen, Denmark
aldo@dtu.dk

Gissur Örlygsson

Board member
Project Manager and Scientist at IceTec, Reykjavík, Iceland
gissur@taeknisetur.is

Giuseppe Schiavone

Board member
Associate Professor at University of South-Eastern Norway, Notodden, Norway  
Giuseppe.Schiavone@usn.no

Peter Uppstu

Board member
Deputy Lecturer at Åbo Akademi University, Turku, Finland
Peter.Uppstu@abo.fi

Asli Aybike Dogan

Student Representative & Secretary (2021 - present)
Ph.D. Candidate at Department of Health Technology, Technical University of Denmark, Copenhagen, Denmark
aado@dtu.dk

How to become a board member:

The ScSB welcomes nominations to the board at any time. Nominations may be made personally or on behalf of another. Please feel free to email us by clicking the envelope icon with nominations, or for further information.

Former Board Members

Jānis Ločs

Board Member
Associate Professor at Rudolfs Cimdins Riga Biomaterials Innovations & Development Centre, Riga Technical University, Latvia
janis.locs@rtu.lv

Ólafur Eysteinn Sigurjónsson

President
Professor at Biomedical Engineering Department, Reykjavik University & Director of Research & Development at Blood Bank, Landspitali University Hospital, Iceland
oes@landspitali.is

Nick J. Walters

Outreach officer
Host of ScSB 2019 Conference Principal Specialist, Grant Writer, Natural Resources Institute Finland
nickwalters@icloud.com

Anna Finne Witstrand

Board Member
Professor at KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Fibre and Polymer Technology, Stockholm, Sweden
annaf@kth.se

Helena Brisby

Board Member
Professor at Department of Orthopaedics, University of Gothenburg, Sweden
helena.brisby.2@gu.se

Alexandra Løvdal

Student Representative (2014-2015)
R&D Senior Scientist at Coloplast, Copenhagen, Denmark
Former PhD Candidate at Technical University of Denmark (DTU), Copenhagen, Denmark

Berit Løkensgard Strand

Board Member
Professor at Department of Biotechnology & Food Science, NTNU (Norwegian University of Science & Technology), Trondheim, Norway
berit.l.strand@ntnu.no

Kārlis Agris Gross

Vice-president
Professor at the Faculty of Materials Science and Applied Chemistry, Riga Technical University, Latvia
kgross@rtu.lv

Håvard J. Haugen

President
Professor at Department of Biomaterials, University of Oslo, Norway h.j.haugen@odont.uio.no

Martin Andersson

Treasurer
Professor at Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden
martin.andersson@chalmers.se

Alma Akhmetova

Student Representative (2019-2020)
Lecturer in Wound Care and Management at Nazarbayev University, Kazakhstan
Former Ph.D. Candidate at Department of Pharmacy, KU (University of Copenhagen), Copenhagen, Denmark

Necati Harmankaya

Student Representative
Senior Project Manager, Decentralised Clinical Trials, ICON, Copenhagen, Denmark
Former PhD Candidate at University of Gothenburg, Sweden

My Hedhammar

Board Member
Associate Professor at Dept. Protein Science, Engineering Sciences in Chemistry, Biotechnology and Health, KTH, Stockholm, Sweden
myh@kth.se

David Bassett

Board Member
Researcher at Department of Physics, NTNU (Norwegian University of Science & Technology), Trondheim, Norway
david.bassett@ntnu.no

Håkan Engqvist

Board Member
Professor at Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Applied Materials Science
hakan.engqvist@angstrom.uu.se

Magnus Ågren

Board Member
Professor at Department of Clinical Medicine, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
magnus.agren@mail.dk

Joachim S. Kjesbu

Student Representative (2018-2019)
PhD Candidate at Department of Biotechnology & Food Science, NTNU (Norwegian University of Science & Technology), Trondheim, Norway
joachim.s.kjesbu@ntnu.no